Thursday, February 29, 2024

    Latest Posts

    PM Modi congratulates Ustad Zakir Hussain, Shankar Mahadevan, says ‘India is proud’ | Action Punjab

    Grammys 2024: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday took to X (formerly Twitter) to congratulate musicians Ustad Zakir Hussain, Shankar Mahadevan, Rakesh Chaurasia, Ganesh Rajagopalan and Selvaganesh V for their Grammy wins.

    “Congratulations @ZakirHtabla, @Rakeshflute, @Shankar_Live, @kanjeeraselva, and @violinganesh on your phenomenal success at the #GRAMMYs! Your exceptional talent and dedication to music have won hearts worldwide. India is proud! These achievements are a testament to the hard work you keep putting in. It will also inspire the new generation of artists to dream big and excel in music,” PM Modi wrote.

    The tabla player and music composer received the prestigious award in the ‘Best Global Music Performance’ category for ‘Pashto’.

    Also Read

    Uniform Civil Code Bill: Paving the way for equality in property and family rights

    Shimla: Tourist influx in ‘Queen of Hills’ soars after snowfall

    In an acceptance speech for ‘Pashto’ on behalf of his fellow musicians, Bela Fleck, Edgar Meyer, and Rakesh Chaurasia, the 72-year-old Mumbai-born percussionist stated “Thanks to the Academy, thanks to all these great musicians for giving us beautiful music…our deepest thanks to our families…without them, we are nothing… without love, without music, without harmony, we are nothing.”

    ‘As We Speak,’ in which the tabla maverick worked together with Bela Fleck, Edgar Meyer, and Rakesh Chaurasia, won the Grammy for ‘Best Contemporary Instrumental Album’.

    Hussain, who is also a member of the jazz group ‘Shakti’ with Shankar Mahadevan, won ‘The Best Global Music Album Award’ for their most recent album, ‘This Moment’.

    The album ‘This Moment’ includes eight songs written by John McLaughlin (guitar synth), Zakir Hussain (tabla), Shankar Mahadevan (vocalist), V Selvaganesh (percussionist), and Ganesh Rajagopalan (violinist). They were nominated for the Grammys alongside Susana Baca, Bokante, Burna Boy, and Davido.

    The group also includes guitarist John McLaughlin, percussionist V Selvaganesh, and violinist Ganesh Rajagopalan.

    At the ceremony, the Shakti band competed against artists such as Susana Baca, Bokante, Burna Boy, and Davido. The album ‘This Moment’ was released on June 30 of last year.

    Also Read

    Sidhu Moosewala’s new song ‘Drippy’ takes Punjabi music scene by storm

    Abu Dhabi’s first Hindu temple soars at 108 ft, 79.86 metre in length | Check Details

    Author: actionpunjab

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.