Monday, February 26, 2024

    Latest Posts

    Who was Charan Singh? The towering leader of farmers’ Bharat Ratna 2024 | Action Punjab

    ACTION PUNJAB NEWS Desk: Chaudhary Charan Singh, who served as India’s Prime Minister from July 28, 1979, to January 14, 1980, is set to receive India’s highest civilian honour, the ‘Bharat Ratna’. Prime Minister Narendra Modi made the announcement, also including former PM PV Narasimha Rao and agricultural scientist MS Swaminathan among the recipients of this prestigious award.

    In a post on X, PM Modi expressed gratitude for the opportunity to honor Chaudhary Charan Singh, acknowledging his unwavering dedication to the nation and particularly to the welfare of farmers. Singh’s lifelong commitment to championing farmers’ rights earned him the esteemed title of the tallest farmers’ leader in India.

    Throughout his illustrious political career, Chaudhary Charan Singh served in various capacities, including as the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh and Union Home Minister. He was also a fervent advocate for democracy and played a pivotal role in opposing the Emergency. His leadership and resilience during challenging times served as a beacon of inspiration for the nation.

    PM Modi highlighted Singh’s tireless efforts in nation-building and his relentless pursuit of justice for farmers, which remained unwavering across his various roles and responsibilities. His contributions to democracy and his unwavering dedication to the welfare of farmers continue to inspire generations.

    The decision to confer the Bharat Ratna upon Chaudhary Charan Singh not only recognises his monumental contributions to the nation but also serves as a testament to his enduring legacy as a true statesman and leader of the people.

    Also Read: Uttarakhand madrasa demolition: 4 dead, 250 injured in riots ; schools shut, internet services down

    Also Read: Centre announces Bharat Ratna for former PMs Narashima Rao , Charan Singh and MS Swaminathan

    Who was Chaudhary Charan Singh?

    1. Born into a middle-class farming family in Meerut in 1902, Chaudhary Charan Singh pursued his education at Agra University before delving into the legal profession. He commenced his legal practice in Ghaziabad and later relocated to Meerut in 1929.

    2. Embarking on his political journey with the Congress, Singh secured his first electoral victory to the Uttar Pradesh Assembly from Chhaprauli in 1937. He continued to serve his constituency, winning re-elections in 1946, 1952, 1962, and 1967.

    3. Singh’s ascent in politics saw him appointed as a parliamentary secretary in Govind Ballabh Pant’s government in 1946. Over the years, he held various ministerial portfolios, eventually becoming a cabinet minister for justice and information in 1951.

    4. Departing from the Congress in 1967, Singh assumed the role of Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh for the first time, leading the Sanyukta Vidhayak Dal coalition. He served a second term as Chief Minister in 1970.

    5. In a significant turn of events in 1979, following the withdrawal of support from the Janata Party government led by Morarji Desai, Chaudhary Charan Singh was entrusted with the position of Prime Minister. However, his tenure was short-lived as support from the Congress (I) waned, leading to his resignation before proving his majority in the Lok Sabha. Despite resigning, Singh remained in office as caretaker Prime Minister until January 14, 1980.

    Chaudhary Charan Singh’s political journey reflects a blend of resilience, leadership, and dedication to public service, leaving an indelible mark on India’s political landscape.

    Also Read: Amitabh Bachchan takes spiritual sojourn, visits Ayodhya Ram Temple

    Also Read: Who is PV Narasimha Rao? The first Congress Prime Minister beyond the Nehru-Gandhi dynasty

    (Inputs from agencies)

    Author: actionpunjab

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.