Tuesday, April 16, 2024

    Latest Posts

    EC to decide Lok Sabha, Assembly polls together or separately in Jammu and Kashmir | Action Punjab

    ACTION PUNJAB NEWS Desk: Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar stated that the poll body will decide whether to hold Lok Sabha and Assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir together or separately after assessing the security situation.

    The long wait for Jammu and Kashmir appears to have come to an end, with the Election Commission of India (ECI) considering holding simultaneous assembly and Lok Sabha elections.

    The poll body’s team, led by Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, is visiting the Union Territory for three days.

    “We are concerned about Lok Sabha and Assembly polls in J&K. The majority of political parties we met in Srinagar and Jammu demanded that Assembly and Lok Sabha polls be held simultaneously,” CEC Rajiv Kumar said.

    “As far as holding Lok Sabha and Assembly polls simultaneously, we will take a final call after a thorough security review and consultations with the political parties. One thing is sure: we want early Lok Sabha and Assembly polls in J&K.”

    Kumar stated that online cash transfers through wallets will be strictly monitored in Jammu and Kashmir. People over the age of 85 and those with disabilities will be able to vote from home in J-K.

    The Chief Election Commissioner also stated that the Election Commission has received details about the electoral bonds from the State Bank of India (SBI) and will share all relevant information in due course.

    The response came as the Chairman of the State Bank of India (SBI) filed an affidavit in the Supreme Court, stating that, in accordance with the top court’s order, the date of purchase of each electoral bond, the name of the purchaser, and the denomination of the bond purchased were provided to the Election Commission of India.

    Also Read 

    CAA becomes reality: Centre notifies implementation of Citizenship Amendment Act

    Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Check out phases, constituencies and comprehensive information on Punjab polls

    BJP Lok Sabha candidates list: PM Modi to contest from Varanasi

    Ajay Mishra Teni, whose son mowed down farmers during 2020 protest, to contest from Lakhimpur Kheri

    Author: actionpunjab

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.