Tuesday, April 16, 2024

    Latest Posts

    BJP takes lead in Bihar politics, surpassing Nitish Kumar in seat share | Action Punjab

    ACTION PUNJAB NEWS Desk: In a significant shift of dynamics, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has assumed a leading role in Bihar’s political landscape, taking charge of spearheading the NDA’s electoral campaign in the state. Under a newly finalised formula, the BJP will contest 17 out of Bihar’s 40 seats, marking a departure from its traditional supporting role to Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal United (JDU).

    Nitish Kumar’s JDU will field candidates on 16 seats, while Chirag Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) will contest on five seats. Additionally, Upendra Kushwaha and Jitan Ram Manjhi’s parties will contest on one seat each.

    The agreement between the BJP and Chirag Paswan’s faction of the LJP comes after a prolonged deadlock, during which there were speculations about the LJP exploring options with the opposition bloc. Initially offered only six seats, reportedly to be shared with Chirag Paswan’s uncle Pashupati Paras, the LJP settled for five seats in the end. However, Chirag Paswan made it clear that none of these seats would be allocated to his uncle’s faction.

    Also Read: Massive explosion in China’s Yanjiao causes damage to numerous buildings and vehicles: Reports

    Also Read: Private-sector rocket from Japan explodes shortly after launch | Watch video

    Securing this deal is a significant achievement for the BJP, which was facing isolation following Nitish Kumar’s departure from the NDA. The party’s newfound prominence is evident in its one-seat advantage over Nitish Kumar’s JDU in the alliance, signaling its alpha position.

    This development marks a departure from the 2019 electoral arrangement, where the BJP and JDU had agreed on a 50:50 seat-sharing formula, with both parties contesting on an equal number of seats. At that time, the LJP, led by Chirag Paswan’s father Ram Vilas Paswan, contested on six seats. Despite internal tensions, the alliance managed to secure a landslide victory, winning 39 out of the 40 seats, with only one seat going to the opposition.

    Also Read: Farmers protest in Delhi: Kisan Mahapanchayat today, traffic jams expected | 10 highlights

    Also Read: Farmers at Shambhu equipped for extended protest with Cots, LCDs, and 24×7 kitchen

    (Inputs from agencies)

    Author: actionpunjab

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.